OBSOLETE MANKIND is made up of former NEURAXIS bassist Yan Thiel, who takes up guitar in an unprecedented recorded setting, and is fronted by vocalist Marie-Hélène Landry, notably of early DESPISED ICON acclaim, and also of Quebec death metal act BORBORYGME. Newly signed to Dark Descent Records, PHOBOCOSM shares the talents of its bombastic drummer Jean-Sébastien Gagnon, as well as the dissonant discord of Samuel Dufour on guitar. The role of bassist is filled by none other than former PAROXYSM low-end backbone Jean-Philippe Sigouin, who is showcased on the bands third full length album "Voracite", released independently in June 2014.

If all of this wasn't already a recipe for barraging brutality, Jean-Sébastien and Samuel can also be cited for working together on their respective instruments through renowned Montreal death metal act VENGEFUL early this millennium before moving on to other respective endeavors. It should also be mentioned that Jean-Sébastien was a forming member of incendiary Montreal 90s brutal technical death metal outfit ATHERETIC (aka SATANIZED), who are signed to Quebec's legendary Galy Records.

The idea for OBSOLETE MANKIND came about rather organically through casual discussions in August 2011, when the fivesome were mainly in between projects and curious how a collaboration might turn out between good friends with a similar passion for 90s death metal. The quintet decided to turn their ideas into jam sessions in November of the same year.

After a successful bout of Montreal support shows for respective acclaimed touring acts DEHUMANIZED, INTERNAL BLEEDING, NERVOUS IMPULSE, BEYOND CREATION, and MALIGNANCY, OBSOLETE MANKIND headlined its own Québec shows in the metropolises of Sherbrooke, Rouyn-Noranda, Gatineau, Trois-Rivières, and Québec.

OBSOLETE MANKIND is casually courting record labels at present with intent to potentially make festival appearances, continue to play local shows, and remain open to other professional opportunities and endeavors for the right match between artist and label.

Band Members:

Yan Thiel - Guitars
Marie-Hélène Landry - Vocals
Jean-Sébastien Gagnon - Drums
Jean-Philippe Sigouin - Bass
Samuel Dufour - Guitars

Band Logo

White Logo      Black Logo

Follow Us On:

Facebook Youtube Youtube

OBSOLETE MANKIND © 2015, All Rights Reserved
Web Design